fbpx Regional Cooperation and Integration: BIMP-EAGA | Asian Development Bank

Regional Cooperation and Integration (RCI)

Across Asia and the Pacific, ADB is working to promote cross-border infrastructure, trade integration, financial links, and regional public goods.

Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area

The Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area initiative was launched in 1994 as a cooperation initiative to close the development gap across and within the EAGA member countries.

Established in 1994, the Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) aims to accelerate the socioeconomic development of less-developed, marginalized, and geographically remote areas in these four countries as part of a broader goal to narrow the development gaps, not only among ASEAN Member States, but also within them.

BIMP-EAGA covers the entire sultanate of Brunei Darussalam; the provinces of Kalimantan, Sulawesi, Maluku, and Papua of Indonesia; the states of Sabah and Sarawak and the federal territory of Labuan in Malaysia; and Mindanao and the province of Palawan in the Philippines. The subregion covers a land area of 1.6 million square kilometers with an estimated population of 73 million.

BIMP-EAGA cooperation aims to increase trade, tourism, and investments by facilitating the free movement of people, goods, and services; making the best use of common infrastructure and natural resources; and taking the fullest advantage of economic complementation.

BIMP-EAGA’s underlying strategy is to mobilize private sector investments with the governments (national, state, provincial and local) providing the facilitative environment and support.

To achieve its development goals, the BIMP-EAGA cooperation is anchored on five strategic pillars: connectivity; food basket; tourism; environment; and socio-cultural and education.

As the Regional Development Advisor to BIMP-EAGA, ADB provides technical and strategic guidance as well as knowledge and capacity building support.

What's New


Ronald Antonio Butiong

Chief of Regional Cooperation and Integration Thematic Group

Cyn-Young Park

Director, Regional Cooperation and Integration Division

Follow on Social Media

Other Subregional Programs

ADB serves as secretariat or advisor for the following subregional programs.

Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC) Program

Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC) Program

The CAREC Program is a partnership of 11 countries and development partners working together to promote development through cooperation, leading to accelerated economic growth and poverty reduction.

Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS)

Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS)

The GMS is a natural economic area bound together by the Mekong River, covering 2.6 million square kilometers and a combined population of around 326 million.

Indonesia-Malaysia-Thailand Growth Triangle (IMT-GT)

Indonesia-Malaysia-Thailand Growth Triangle (IMT-GT)

Indonesia, Malaysia, and Thailand are neighbors sharing close historical, cultural, and linguistic ties.

South Asia Subregional Economic Cooperation (SASEC)

South Asia Subregional Economic Cooperation (SASEC)

The SASEC Program brings together Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, and Sri Lanka in a project-based partnership to build a better quality of life for the people of the subregion.